NSU Oceanographic Campus Library Software Resources: Canvas X Pro
General Information
What is Canvas X Pro?
Canvas X Pro is a professional graphics software that allows users to create technical illustrations, including two dimensional drawings, three dimensional CAD models, vector graphics, and more.
Canvas X Pro can be found in the Oceanographic Campus Library on computers 4 & 8.
Library Resources
AutoCAD 2018 and AutoCAD LT 2018 Essentials by
The step-by-step, full-color AutoCAD 2018 guide with real-world practicality AutoCAD 2018 and AutoCAD LT 2018 Essentials provides a full-color, task-based approach to mastering this powerful software. Straightforward, easy-to-follow instruction pairs with real-world, hands-on exercises to help you quickly get up to speed with core features and functions; screenshots illustrate tutorial steps to help you follow along, and each chapter concludes with a more open-ended project so you can dive in and explore a specific topic in-depth. From 2D drawing and organization to 3D modeling, dimensioning, presenting, and more, this helpful guide walks you through everything you need to know to become productive with AutoCAD 2018 and AutoCAD LT 2018. The companion website features downloadable starting and ending files for each exercise, so you can jump in at any point and compare your work to the pros, as well as additional tutorials to help you go as deep as you need to go. Exercises walk you through the real-world process of drafting while teaching you critical skills along the way. Understand the AutoCAD interface and foundational concepts Master essential drawing and visualization tools Stay organized with layers, groups, and blocks Experiment with 3D modeling, add text and dimensions, and much more AutoCAD is the industry-leading technical drawing software, and complete mastery is a vital skill for any design and drafting professional. AutoCAD 2018 and AutoCAD LT 2018 Essentials is a smart, quick resource that will help you get up to speed with real-world practical instruction.
Call Number: T385 .O56725 2017ISBN: 9781119386780Publication Date: 2017-06-12
3D CAD with Autodesk 123D by
If you've arrived at a stage in your creative life where you're ready to do more with your computer, it's time to learn how to combine its power with new advances in computer-aided design (CAD) and fabrication to make something awesome--in three dimensions! The free suite of Autodesk 123D software offers all the tools you need to capture or design three-dimensional objects and characters. This book tells you how to harness that power to print or fabricate just about anything you can imagine. Want to make something mechanical or structural that's based on precise measurements? 123D Design can help! Ready to create something cool based on a character, an organic shape, or something found in nature? 123D Catch, 123D Meshmixer, and 123D Sculpt+ will assist. Learn how to use these tools, plus 123D Make--perfect for prototyping designs you'll cut with a CNC mill--to take your creativity to a new level. An ideal book for Makers, hobbyists, students, artists, and designers (including beginners!), this book opens up the inexpensive world of personal fabrication to everyone. In 3D CAD with Autodesk 123D, you'll: Meet the classic "Stanford bunny" and learn to modify it with Meshmixer Scan and 3D print anything around you Design your own 3D-printed guitar Find models in the Sculpt+ community and make a skeleton! Build a birdhouse, prototype a playground, or create a statue Learn everything from basics to troubleshooting skills Get started making right away
Call Number: T385 .A8 2016ISBN: 9781449343019Publication Date: 2016-02-23
Handbook of 3D Integration, Volume 3 by
Edited by key figures in 3D integration and written by top authors from high-tech companies and renowned research institutions, this book covers the intricate details of 3D process technology. As such, the main focus is on silicon via formation, bonding and debonding, thinning, via reveal and backside processing, both from a technological and a materials science perspective. The last part of the book is concerned with assessing and enhancing the reliability of the 3D integrated devices, which is a prerequisite for the large-scale implementation of this emerging technology. Invaluable reading for materials scientists, semiconductor physicists, and those working in the semiconductor industry, as well as IT and electrical engineers.
Call Number: TK7874 .H3483 2014ISBN: 9783527334667Publication Date: 2014-07-21
Design and Modeling for 3D ICS and Interposers by
3D Integration is being touted as the next semiconductor revolution. This book provides a comprehensive coverage on the design and modeling aspects of 3D integration, in particularly, focus on its electrical behavior. Looking from the perspective the Silicon Via (TSV) and Glass Via (TGV) technology, the book introduces 3DICs and Interposers as a technology, and presents its application in numerical modeling, signal integrity, power integrity and thermal integrity. the authors underscored the potential of this technology in design exchange formats and power distribution.
Call Number: TK7874.893 .S93 2014ISBN: 9789814508599Publication Date: 2013-11-01
Modern Graphics Communication by
This full-color text offers a clear introduction and detailed reference for creating and interpreting technical drawings, whether using 2D CAD or 3D modeling. The important role that 3D CAD databases play in design and documentation is a central emphasis. Superbly integrated illustrations, step-by-step instructions, and navigation features help you master key skills and knowledge. Throughout, the authors demonstrate 3D and 2D drawing skills and CAD usage in the context of real-world practice in today's leading disciplines. They combine strong technical detail, real-world examples, and current standards, materials, industries, and processes--all in a format that is efficient, colorful, and visual. FEATURES SPLASH SPREAD Appealing chapter openers provide context and motivation. REFERENCES AND WEB LINKS Useful web links and standards provided upfront in each chapter. UNDERSTANDING SECTION Foundational introductions, tabbed for easy navigation, outline each topic's importance, use, visualization tips, and theory. DETAIL SECTION Detailed, well-tested explanations of drawing techniques, variations, and examples--organized into quick-read sections, numbered for easy reference. CAD AT WORK SECTION Breakout pages offer tips on generating drawings from 2D or 3D models. PORTFOLIO SECTION AND INDUSTRY CASES Examples of finished drawings and case studies from industry practitioners show how techniques are applied in the real world. KEY WORDS Italicized on first reference, summarized after each chapter. CHAPTER SUMMARIES AND REVIEW QUESTIONS Efficiently reinforce learning. EXERCISES Outstanding problem sets with updated exercises, including parts, assembly drawings from CAD models, and more. WORKSHEETS Worksheets and grids encourage students to practice and develop hand-sketching skills used for communicating and generating design concepts. Printable PDFs may also be downloaded. New to the 6th Edition Updated for current ASME standards Color photos of inspiring applications Updated coverage of 3D printing and rapid prototyping Additional worksheets for developing sketching and visual ability
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9780138271879Publication Date: 2023-11-04
Computer Visualization by
Rapid advances in 3-D scientific visualization have made a major impact on the display of behavior. The use of 3-D has become a key component of both academic research and commercial product developme nt in the field of engineering design. Computer Visualization presents a unified collection of computer graphics techniques for the scientific visualization of behavior. The book combines a basic overview of the fundamentals of computer graphics with a practitioner-oriented review of the latest 3-D graphics display and visualization techniques. Each chapter is written by well-known experts in the field. The first section reviews how computer graphics visualization techniques have evolved to work with digital numerical analysis methods. The fundamentals of computer graphics that apply to the visualization of analysis data are also introduced. The second section presents a detailed discussion of the algorithms and techniques used to visualize behavior in 3-D, as static, interactive, or animated imagery. It discusses the mathematics of engineering data for visualization, as well as providing the current methods used for the display of scalar, vector, and tensor fields. It also examines the more general issues of visualizing a continuum volume field and animating the dimensions of time and motion in a state of behavior. The final section focuses on production visualization capabilities, including the practical computational aspects of visualization such as user interfaces, database architecture, and interaction with a model. The book concludes with an outline of successful practical applications of visualization, and future trends in scientific visualization.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9781000939811Publication Date: 2023
AutoCAD 2023 3D Modeling by
This book provides new and seasoned users with step-by-step procedures on creating and modifying 3D models, working with cameras and lights, assigning materials to objects, rendering, and printing. Unlike many AutoCAD competitors, it uses both metric and imperial units to illustrate the myriad tools for thispopular application. Use the companion CD to set up drawing exercises and projects and see all of the book's figures including color. AutoCAD 2023 3D Modelingincludes 50 "mini-workshops," that complete small projects from concept through actual plotting. Solving all of the workshops will simulate the creation of full projects (architectural and mechanical) from beginning to end, without overlooking any of the basic commands and functions in AutoCAD 2023. FEATURES: Provides new and seasoned users with step-by-step procedures on creating and modifying 3D modelsin both metric and imperial units Companion files can be used to set up in-text drawing exercises and projects and to see the book's figures in color The companion files are also available online by emailing the publisher with proof of purchase at info@merclearning.com.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9781683928492Publication Date: 2022-07-11
Mastering SVG by
Take the plunge and develop cross-browser-compatible and responsive web designs with SVG Key Features Master the art of custom animations and visualizations with SVG, CSS, and JavaScript Combine SVG with third-party libraries and frameworks such as React, JQuery, D3, and Snap.svg for GUI-rich apps Create an awesome user experience with high-performance graphics for your web applications Book Description SVG is the most powerful image format in use on the web. In addition to producing resolution-independent images for today's multi-device world, SVG allows you to create animations and visualizations to add to your sites and applications. The simplicity of cross-platform markup, mixed with familiar modern web languages, such as CSS and JavaScript, creates a winning combination for designers and developers alike. In this book, you will learn how to author an SVG document using common SVG features, such as elements and attributes, and serve SVG on the web using simple configuration tips for common web servers. You will also use SVG elements and images in HTML documents. Further, you will use SVG images for a variety of common tasks, such as manipulating SVG elements, adding animations using CSS, mastering the basic JavaScript SVG (API) using Document Object Model (DOM) methods, and interfacing SVG with common libraries and frameworks, such as React, jQuery, and Angular. You will then build an understanding of the Snap.svg and SVG.js APIs, along with the basics of D3, and take a look at how to implement interesting visualizations using the library. By the end of the book, you will have mastered creating animations with SVG. What you will learn Deliver the elements that make up an SVG image Replace your old CSS sprites with SVG Understand animation and data visualization with SVG are explained in pure JavaScript and using common libraries Use SVG to scale images across multiple devices easily Harness the power of CSS animations and transformations to manipulate your SVG images in a replicable, remixable way Interface SVG with common libraries and frameworks, such as jQuery, React, and Angular Who this book is for This book is for web developers and designers looking to add animation to their projects. Some experience with HTML, CSS, and JavaScript is required.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9781788626743Publication Date: 2018-09-21
Essential Skills for 3D Modeling, Rendering, and Animation by
The Key to Fully Understanding the Basics of a 3D WorldProminently used in games, movies, and on television, 3D graphics are tools of creation used to enhance how material and light come together to manipulate objects in 3D space. A game-changer written for the non-technical mind, Essential Skills for 3D Modeling, Rendering, and Animation examines
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9781482224146Publication Date: 2014-11-06
Additional Support Information
Canvas X Pro Help Guide: https://help.canvasgfx.com/en/canvas-x-pro/user_guide/canvas_x_pro_help.htm
Canvas X Pro Help Center, General Information: https://support.canvasgfx.com/portal/en/kb/canvas-gfx/canvas-x-pro/general
Canvas X Pro Technical Support: https://support.canvasgfx.com/portal/en/kb/canvas-gfx/canvas-x-pro/technical-support
Online Tutorials
- Getting Started with Canvas X Pro Technical Illustration and Graphic Design Software
Topics covered: docking pane, adding 3D models, texting, image adjustments, and converting raster to vector. - Creating Technical Documentation Using Canvas X Pro
See how to create rich, visual technical documentation using 3D CAD models, photographs, vector images and more. Add annotations in an instant, highlight key parts, show exploded views and much more. - Camera Tool Overview
How to use the Canvas camera tool, available across all Canvas solutions for Windows and macOS. - Charts Overview
Create rich data visualizations, available across all Canvas solutions for Windows and macOS. - How to Create a Transparent Background
Learn how to create a transparent background also known as creating an alpha image. - Add Custom Symbols to Your Symbol Library
Canvas comes loaded with symbols for all sorts of use cases. And you can also add your own. Watch this video to learn now! - Measurements in Canvas
Learn how to use the precision Canvas measuring tool. The measurements function is available in all current Canvas applications for Windows and macOS, including Canvas X Pro, and Canvas X Draw. - Canvas Amazing Annotation Lens Tool!
Get precision views with the Canvas Annotation Lens tool, available across all Canvas solutions for Windows and macOS. - Using the Auto Trace Tool
Check out our powerful auto trace tool, available in all current Canvas applications. - Open CVX Files and Publish Your Content to the Web
With the latest Canvas graphics software, Envision .evONE, you can open all your CVX files created in Canvas X Products and instantly transform them into interactive shareable web content.
- Product Design: From CAD to 3D Model
After you've turned a concept into a CAD model, there are still many steps to prepare it for rendering or manufacture. This course walks you through the product design process starting from a partially-realized 2D sketch. It takes you through the finishing steps needed to turn a concept model into something functional and ready for presentation. You learn how to shape the surfaces of a model, add textures and materials, and prepare the model for final photorealistic product render. Instructor Jean Gorospe uses Rhino and KeyShot for modeling and rendering, but the skills taught in this course can apply to any software. - Drawing Vector Graphics Laboratory
Sometimes you need to experiment to grow as an artist. What better place to try out new design ideas than the Drawing Vector Graphics Laboratory? Every Wednesday, Von Glitschka introduces a new method, tool, or resource to stretch your creative muscle and explore a new artistic style. Each lesson pulls back the curtain on Von's design process—the good, the bad, and the ugly—to give beginners the self-confidence they need to start drawing and provide experts an inside look at a fellow professional's workflow.
- Computer Graphics
This course provides introduction to computer graphics algorithms, software and hardware. Topics include: ray tracing, the graphics pipeline, transformations, texture mapping, shadows, sampling, global illumination, splines, animation and color. This course offers 6 Engineering Design Points in MIT’s EECS program.